Dragon Types, Classifications, Races, Colors, Nature..

Dragon Types, Classifications, Races, Colors, Nature..

of reading - words

As a breed with individuals of different natures, there are different types and classifications of dragons.

  • The elementary ones


The first type of dragons is the elemental type, which divides them into three of the four elements: fire, earth, water. Land dragons are the most widespread, the largest and spit fire. Fire dragons live in the heart of volcanoes, and water dragons with a more serpentine appearance live in lakes and other waters.

Types of Dragons


  • Coackatrice


  • Wyrm


  • Drake


  • Wyvern


  • Amphithere


  • Wyrm


  • Quetzalcoatl


  • Sea Serpent

Sea Serpent

  • Linwurm


  • Salamander


  • Hydra


  • Kirin


  • Lung Dragon

Lung Dragon

  • Dragon Fae

Dragon Fae

The colors of the Dragons

The second classification is done according to the colours; it is the most classic. There are white, blue, red, red, green, black and so-called metal dragons.

  • White Dragons


White dragons are called polar. Their skin is thick fur, they are massive and keep vast territories that they are constantly expanding.

  • Blue Dragons

The blue dragons are the closest to the "animals". They live like eagles, their areas are at the top of a mountain, they are slender and are the best in flight.

  • Red Dragons

The red dragons are the most famous, the largest and the most powerful. They are not great travellers with their short wings; their head is a horse and their tail is articulated into a real weapon. They are very intelligent and live in mountains where they hide their treasures. They love it and accumulate considerable masses of it. Where there is a red dragon, there is gold.

  • Green dragons


Green Dragons are forest dragons; they are friends of elves and forest beings. They are agile, have great mental powers, and in addition, can spit fire, steam or gas.

  • Black Dragons

Black dragons are the most harmful and evil; as robust as reds, they are thinner, more aggressive and formidable. They live in marshes or desert places, are cunning, ready to join forces with other creatures to achieve their goals.

  • Metals, crystals and particulars

Metal dragons are divided into gold, silver, bronze, copper and tin dragons. Their construction offers them a high resistance and particular flame jets. They are never bad, having taken the path of goodness and wisdom. The tin ones are the weakest of them but the most sociable, speaking more different languages than the other dragons and loving to converse. The copper ones are the most mischievous but they remain pure, the bronze ones are the ones with the most chivalrous spirit. Silver dragons are the most sensitive, intervening in extreme cases and injustice. Finally, the golden dragons are the rarest and most noble fighting against the forces of evil.

Less common, crystalline dragons have their bodies made up of minerals. The most famous are the amethyst, emerald, crystal, sapphire and topaz dragons.

There are also more atypical dragons such as dracolich, ancient dragons, often bad, brought back to life by necromancy and dragons, the smallest the size of a butterfly, living and protecting forests.

The Chinese Dragon

On the side of the Chinese dragons, there are two classifications: one per color, one per cosmic task. The one by color differs from the classic one we saw earlier. There are five dragons in it: the blacks, representing the North, very airy and causing storms, the blues symbolizing the East and announcing spring, the reds for the West associated with the pleasures of summer. Then we find the whites for the South and announce death or famine, then lastly the yellows, who are solitary and venerated because they carry the prayers of men to the gods.

For the second Chinese classification, there are nine dragons with precise names:

  • Tialong, the celestial dragon, pulling the tanks of the gods and guarding their palaces.
  • Shenlong, the spiritual dragon, who controls the wind and rain.
  • Fucanglong, the dragon of hidden treasures, which keeps the precious materials of the soil.
  • Dilong, the land dragon, which controls the rivers and resides in the skies in spring, under the sea in autumn.
  • Yinglong, the winged dragon, in the service of Emperor Huang Di.
  • Jiaolong, the horned dragon, who lives in the sea from where he controls floods.
  • Panlong, the coiled dragon, who lives in the lakes.
  • Huanglong, the yellow dragon, the scholar who taught men how to write.
  • Longwang, the royal dragon, king of the seas.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published


Receive our articles in your mail box.